Menu

“This World We Live In” by Susan Beth Pfeffer

Thursday, June 16, 2011 - Book Reading
“This World We Live In” by Susan Beth Pfeffer

Back of the Book:

The heart-wrenching companion to the bestselling novels Life As We Knew It and The Dead & The Gone.

It’s been a year since a meteor collided with the moon, catastrophically altering the earth’s climate. Miranda and her two brothers spend their days scavenging for food and household items, while their mother stays at home and desperately tries to hold on to the ordinary activities of their previous life. But they all know that nothing is truly normal in this surreal new world they live in.

The struggle to survive intensifies when Miranda’s father and stepmother arrive with a baby and three strangers in tow. One of the newcomers is Alex Morales, and as Miranda’s complicated feelings for him turn to love, his plans for his future thwart their relationship. Then a devastating tornado hits the town of Howell, and Miranda makes a decision that will change their lives forever.

From School Library Journal:

This companion to Life As We Knew It (2006) and The Dead and the Gone (2008, both Harcourt) brings together the teen protagonists of those books when Miranda Evans’s father and stepmother arrive with their new baby and a trio of strangers, including Alex Morales. For the past year, Miranda, her two brothers, and their mother have been living in the family home in Howell, PA, struggling to survive since an asteroid hit the Moon, destroying the Earth’s climate and causing millions to die. Deeply religious, Alex is determined to see his younger sister, Julie, safely to a convent before joining a monastery himself. When Miranda and Alex fall in love, she tries to persuade him to stay with her. Then a tornado hits Howell with tragic consequences, and Miranda must make a choice that may drive Alex away forever. As the narrator, Miranda dominates the book, but both she and Alex are sympathetic characters with her independence a nice complement to his sense of honor. Characters such as Miranda’s brothers, parents, and Julie play less of a role but are still likable and fully three-dimensional. It is a testament to the author’s skill that This World We Live In can be read as a stand-alone novel. In fact, new readers might not even realize that the earlier titles exist. Fans of Miranda and Alex, however, will keep this installment flying off the shelves, and the ambiguous ending will make them clamor for a fourth book.—Leah J. Sparks, formerly at Bowie Public Library, MD

Pages: 239

Published: 2010-04-01

Format Read: ebook

[xrr rating=4.5/5]

The very worst thing about this book is the way you feel while reading certain scenes. Actually, it’s be a good thing that a book can invoke such emotion – it’s a sign of amazing writing, but I still felt absolutely horrible. So, if the only thing I can complain about is that the feelings are so intense that you would not want to feel them, then you know it’s a fantastic book! Wait — the cliffhanger. I did not like the cliffhanger. *pout*

The very best thing about this book is the return to journal entries and the cast combination, so to speak. Alex, Miranda, and their respective groups all meet up and for one big group.

Challenges:

This book will be placed under the 42 Challenge 2011, the 2011 E-Book Reading Challenge, the The Dystopia Challenge, and the The TwentyEleven Challenge.

Occasionally Important Information:

"Sweet Savage Love" by Rosemary Rogers
"The Dead and the Gone" by Susan Beth Pfeffer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *