“Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception” by Eoin Colfer

Tuesday, July 26, 2011 - Book Reading
“Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception” by Eoin Colfer

Back of the Book:

The evil pixie Opal Koboi has spent the last year in a self-induced coma, plotting her revenge on all those who foiled her attempt to destroy the LEPrecon fairy police. And Artemis Fowl is at the top of her list.

After his last run-in with the fairies, Artemis had his mind wiped of his memories of the world belowground. But they have not forgotten about him. Once again, he must stop the human and fairy worlds from colliding—only this time, Artemis faces an enemy who may have finally outsmarted him.

From Booklist:

The fourth book in the Artemis Fowl saga follows The Eternity Code (2003), in which Artemis’ mind was wiped clean of any memories of the belowground world of elves, pixies, and dwarves. In this book, Artemis has reverted to his old life of crime. His archenemy, Opal Koboi, has been in a self-induced coma for a year, plotting revenge on all who thwarted her earlier evil doings. After cloning herself, she escapes and sets her plans in motion, going first to find LEPrecon Captain Holly Short and Commander Root, then taking on Artemis as she schemes to destroy the fairy world. As in all the books, this one has plenty of action as well as great humor and clever plot manipulations. Characters are once again fully realized, and fans will eagerly enter into the spirit of the action. Sally Estes
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

Pages: 416

Published: 2005-04-30

Format Read: ebook

[xrr rating=4.0/5]

The very worst thing about this book is that if Merv and Scant are famous and whatnot, why wouldn’t they simply leave Opal in her coma under monitors and move on with their lives? Greed, I guess, would be the answer, but they could be cashing in on their rare-twin-fame instead of letting a psychotic freak loose in the world again.

The very best thing about this book is Artemis’ way of dealing with his memory loss. We knew he would have managed to get something to a safe place, but we couldn’t quite be sure what it was and how it would be recovered. Or how he would react to the memory loss itself.


This book will be placed under the 42 Challenge 2011, the 2011 E-Book Reading Challenge, the 2011 Fantasy Reading Challenge, the iChallenges 2011, and the What’s in a Name 4.

Occasionally Important Information:

"Artemis Fowl: The Lost Colony" by Eoin Colfer
Reviews are coming...

One thought on ““Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception” by Eoin Colfer

  • Pingback: Wrap-Up: 2011 Fantasy Reading Challenge » Alysha♥DeShaé

  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *